Igitur non dormiamus sicut ceteri.

Speaking of New Bishops

Archbishop +Sviatoslav. From wikimedia commons.

I have forgotten, and I doubt many would have cared either way, but there is a new major metropolitan (sometimes styled Patriarch) Archbishop +Sviatoslav (Shevchuk) of Kyiv and head of the Ukrainian Catholic Church! The UGCC is the largest Eastern sui iuris Church in communion with Rome and holds a special place with me for their work in Oregon and Chicago. He has served his faithful in Argentina and has a great educational and pastoral background. May God grant him many years, and I pray for all the hard work he must do in the Ukraine. I’m sure, through the prayers of Josyf Slipyj, Bl John Paul the Great, and Sts. Cyril and Methodius, he will do well and lead his people. Axios!

One response

  1. rippster4christ

    God is good! Check out my blog: rippster4christ.blogspot.com

    Like

    17 May, 2011 at 1:55 pm