Igitur non dormiamus sicut ceteri.

Reccomendations

Even though I am certain that he doesn’t appreciate my pirate jokes, I am enjoying the new- found blog by fellow bibliophile and beer enthusiast, Kevin Huges.   As someone who quaffs more than his average share of beer, I think his reviews are pretty straight forward and seems to agree with my tastes in the bitter stuff. Go forth and read, my beloved reader!

Along with this blog recommendation, I give you the greatest news for today:

A new paper in the journal Alcoholism: Clinical and Experimental Research suggests that – for reasons that aren’t entirely clear – abstaining from alcohol does actually tend to increase one’s risk of dying even when you exclude former drinkers. The most shocking part? Abstainers’ mortality rates are higher than those of heavy drinkers.

Praise be to God, for HE loves mankind!

6 responses

  1. Thanks for the plug…but are you able to view the stuff on my blog? There’s been something wrong with it for a while. When I load the pages, it just displays the title of the essay, and then it is blank underneath. If you can read any of it, I’d be interested in hearing what web browser you are using.

    Like

    31 August, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    • M. Jordan Lichens

      I can only read the blog I linked to above. Everything else looks rather interesting, but I only get the title/blank page. Let me know when things are up and running, though. I’m always on the look for new blogs by people with impeccable tastes in beer and literature.

      Like

      31 August, 2010 at 3:41 pm

  2. There is also a new blog called http://catholicdrinkie.com/, also on twitter

    Like

    31 August, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    • M. Jordan Lichens

      Wow, the Curt Jester commented on my blog. That makes me as giddy as a school girl being asked to prom! Thanks for the site recommendation, I’ll be sure to check it out.

      Like

      1 September, 2010 at 11:05 am

  3. It appears to be written by some chick who likes to swill Michelob. Sigh…

    Like

    2 September, 2010 at 9:00 am

  4. Wait, my mistake. That was a guest post.

    Like

    3 September, 2010 at 7:20 am