Igitur non dormiamus sicut ceteri.

Pirate Activism? Avast, ye!

In case anyone wonders why I don’t take the Tea Party seriously enough, not even enough to be enraged, is best illustrated by the photo to the right.  If I am to dress like a pirate for the purposes of political activism I best be protesting the rise in rum taxes or the outlawing of shanghaiing.  How else do you expect ships to man crews while keeping the conditions tolerable if we can’t kidnap drunken sailors and continue to give them drink once they’re aboard.

However, I will grant, that piracy is a great patriotic endeavor.  Why, where would this nation be without such brave souls as John Paul Jones or the privateers of 1812?  Then again, privateers were also apart of the slave trade.  Okay, we’ll pretend that never happened as we do with all unfortunate decisions in our history books.  Yargh, I say we burn the books to keep us warm for when the oil runs out!  Yargh, indeed!

4 responses

  1. He’s not dressed as a pirate.

    He’s dressed as a 1776 revolutionary, with an “Indian” feather in his hat and a tea kettle to help symbolize, you know,

    the Boston tea party.

    Like

    31 August, 2010 at 7:56 am

    • M. Jordan Lichens

      I’m well aware of his intention, but I couldn’t help but to laugh when I saw this photo. Pardon me if I have a little fun with a fringe element in politics :).

      Now, as for your website: I love the url address!

      Like

      31 August, 2010 at 9:32 am

  2. M. Jordan Lichens

    PS: just for the many new readers I’ve been getting to my blog: there is a rule around here and that rule is not to take me anymore seriously than I take myself! I don’t seek to offend, but American politics was made to be laughed at. As a libertarian with Distributist leanings, I often find cause to laugh at myself.

    Like

    31 August, 2010 at 9:40 am

  3. Pingback: Reccomendations « Catholic Coffee Drinkers