Igitur non dormiamus sicut ceteri.

St. Kaldi, Pray For Us

Ok, Kaldi, the mythical goat farmer who introduced coffee to Sufi monks, is not a saint.  However, I hold him in high regard for bringing us further proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy and it is thus I have always had a fondness for the ritual and tradition of Ethiopian coffee.

Ethiopia has a rich tradition of coffee and it is from there that God delivered his bean-sized grace throughout the world.  Recently this tradition was celebrated at the Northwest African American Museum with the smells and bells to entice all the sense.  Wish I could have been there, but do please read the report from the Seattle Times.

For all other folks in the Pacific Northwest, please do get a pound of Wandering Goat and send it on my way.  Thank you kindly!

One response

  1. You know I’ve drunk alot of coffee, including some home made brew from trees in our back yard (the remnant of a cocoa estate), and I’m still a nescafe man. Bu if you ever get your hands on cafe “Trinite” – dark roasted Caribbean ground coffee you could let me know what you think.

    Like

    17 February, 2010 at 12:51 pm