Igitur non dormiamus sicut ceteri.

On the Joy of Crisis

This last weekend I was pleased to find a last minute deal that allowed me to go to the wedding of some close friends and see the many friends I counted in the wedding party and the crowds who witnessed what might just be the most perfect couple New Hampshire ever produced.  The music played, the beer flowed a little too much, many danced despite not having anything more than grass to jump on, and I can assure you, my dear reader, that this event might just be known as the most joyful event of anyone’s summer.  Love, it seems, is a strange and contagious thing at weddings, as is evident by men who feel sorry for lovers without marriage and a marriage without love.  As I was leaving the incredible feast, a companion remarked the tragedy that so few marriages seem to last and it was then that an idea came to my mind and that idea is the joy of a crisis.

I remarked in my usual intoxicated enthusiasm, “No, what is sad is how few can handle the idea that a crisis is a cathartic time to find the true joy in our lives.  Couples part ways and friendships are broken at crisis because few can realize that the joy of a relationship is that it is always in a crisis.  It is, in fact, the paradox of all human relationships that they are only strong in a crisis; if not then they can only be proven strong in a crisis.  Men are unsure who they count as a friend until a time of upheaval comes about and then whatever friends remain become the prize possession of such a fortunate soul.  No one is thankful for loved ones while all is going well, but it is in times of adversity that we are able to thank God for who we do count as a loved one and are ever afterwards mindful of it.”  Afterwards, I seem to remember falling down asleep and was happily taken to a comfy chair to lean against.  In all my rants of friendship, it seems, I was given another crisis of being unsure where to pass out after such long day.  This, my dear and constant reader, is truly the work of the spirit in our daily lives: to be propped up by those around us.

Comments are closed.