Igitur non dormiamus sicut ceteri.

How Could I Forget? Or: “Human kind cannot bear very much reality.”

Yesterday was the feast of a great holy man and martyr of the English Church, St. Thomas a Becket.  Somehow, in all my impiety, I completely forgot about it!  I had the pleasure of seeing what was the site of St. Thomas’ great shrine, which is now unfortunately destroyed and one candle shines where it once stood.  St. Thomas’ memory is still alive and well, and pilgrims still cry to him for a cure and an example on how to live a holy life.  Like St. Thomas More, Thomas a Becket shows us what it is to be a willing martyr for the Church in face of political opposition.  I reccomend a reading of T. S. Eliot’s Murder in the Cathedral to get a fine retelling of the story with the usual message that to act is to suffer and to suffer is to act.  St. Thomas a Becket, ora pro nobis!

Comments are closed.