Igitur non dormiamus sicut ceteri.

Radicalism Knows No Rites

Byzcath.org reports that a Ukrainian priest has been excommunicated.  It appears that Father Kovpak has connections with SSPX and the source of the problems is the excommunicated Richard Williamson, a “bishop” in SSPX, has illicitly consecrated priests for Father Kovpak’s fraternity.  This news disturbs me for it appears that SSPX is starting to spread its disobedience in a way I really didn’t imagine.  With the influence of a group that is no longer bound by Rome, it seems that my Eastern Rite brothers are now getting caught in the controversy of our Latin brothers and the confusion over the Mass.  Get the story here.

Let me make one thing clear, I sympathize with other Tradtionalists and agree that there is something wrong in the modern Catholic Church as far as Mass and culture are concerned.  Where we Traditional Latin Catholics must draw the line, however, is when disobedience and schism become viable options at a point when the Church seems to be in her more difficult period.  I hold out hope for the unity of all God’s children, and I don’t doubt the sincerity of those who are truly alarmed at the contemporary Chruch’s struggle with identity.  May our Lady pray for each and every one of us!

2 responses

  1. I am no fan of the SSPX, but by putting the word “bishop” in quotes, what are you implying? That he is not a bishop? Why? Because he is not in union with the bishop of Rome?

    What would that mean about the Eastern Orthodox bishops? I hope you wouldn’t put quotes around their titles.

    Like

    11 December, 2007 at 9:53 pm

  2. M. Jordan Lichens

    I mean no disrespect to the Eastern Orhodox bishops, or even the Anglican bishops. I used the scare quotation marks for the simple reason that I am usure of whether or not I may address him as a bishop. Due to the excommunication of the leaders of SSPX, so much has been ambigious in reguards to their status. I did not want to call him “Mr. Williamson” or even a “leader in SSPX,” thus I felt that it would be a good compromise to simply call him a bishop but use the quotation marks. This was not meant to be offensive to anyone, but I see how it could have been taken as such and therefore offer my apologies to any other Eastern Christians who suddenly see me as a coffee drinking rad-trad.

    Also, to put it bluntly, the ongoing schism with the Eastern Orothodox is a bit of a different subject all together in that they have valid apostolic succession and an ongoing tradition.

    Thanks for your inquiry and loving correction!

    Like

    12 December, 2007 at 11:39 am