Igitur non dormiamus sicut ceteri.

Always A Messy Job

I have always been of the Chestertonian belief that it was shameful how few politicians are hanged; worse still, how many of them are tolerated. Thus, when I heard Senator Brownback was speaking at my beloved Thomas More College, I was a bit apprehensive but I must say that the reports I’ve read had many things to which I agree, but still some issues to which I simply find a little odd. As Brownback is the only other Catholic on the ticket, it was a relief to hear him say, “Some would say there ought to be a freedom of choice. But what you’re choosing is to kill a child. … The most dangerous place in the United States is in the womb.” Something interesting, however, was his stance on governors becoming President. Brownback is of the opinion that governors just don’t have the experience necessary to become President. This position is particular for the GOP as their candidates tend to be former governors, a fact pointed out by such conservatives as Mike Medved. Ronald Regan, the party’s near-mythological archetype, was himself governor of California before becoming one of the more controversial Presidents.

Well, this will probably be one of scant few blogs on politics. I, at this point, will not endorse any candidate but will feel it my duty to see that we pray and hope for someone to pull us out of this mess. St. Thomas More, pray for us!

Get the news report here.

3 responses

  1. I am glad that Brownback is ardently pro-life — far too many Catholic politicians really do deserve to be hanged for caving on that issue! — but you are right: it is goofy of him to day that governors lack the experience to be president. In fact it makes no sense whatsoever, especially given historical trends in American presidential politics.

    In our entire history, only two sitting U.S. senators have ever been elected president. One was John Kennedy, and I forget who the other one was.

    Many presidents, on the other hand, have been former governors, and of our last five presidents, four of them (Carter, Reagan, Clinton, and Bush II) were either former governors or were sitting governors when elected. In fact I would say that a governor is better qualified to be president than a Senator: a governor already is a chief executive, whereas a Senator is only one of a hundred. A Senator runs his own office staff, but a governor runs, directly or indirectly, his staff plus a vast apparatus of state agencies under his control.

    When people say a senator is more qualified to be president than a governor, what they mean is that a senator has foreign policy experience. I don’t buy that. Senators may work on foreign policy issues, but the country’s main face in all foreign policy matters is the president.

    Just myu 2 cents. 🙂

    Like

    16 August, 2007 at 11:52 am

  2. Pingback: No One Like’s An I-Told-You-So « Catholic Coffee Drinkers

  3. My comment is off the topic of the Senator, but on the topic of Catholic coffee drinkers.
    I am an avid coffee drinker, I used to buy starbuck until I read about what they are doing with our coffee dollar. It is unbelievable that
    any Christian would buy a cup of their anti-God Java This link tells the story:
    http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-news/1831222/posts

    Now I will only get my Coffee from The Carmelite Monks from Wyoming.
    Their Coffee is the Best!
    We need to let all Catholic Coffee
    drinkers know about this authentically Catholic Coffee.
    check them out at http://www.mysticmonkcoffee.com

    Like

    30 October, 2007 at 9:18 am